CNA Certification

by Maria Pavel on September 29, 2011

In order to become a Certified Nursing Assistant, there are some requirements that must be met. First of all, you must have a high school diploma or a GED. This is the first step for everyone wishing to become certified as a nursing assistant.

Following this, you must complete a 12 week CNA certification program offered at nearly all colleges or healthcare facilities. Once you have completed this course, you must sit for the CNA certification exam.

CNA Certification

CNA Certification

The training programs for Certified Nursing Assistants teach basic nursing skills, safety, hygiene, life support, nutrition, infection control, clinical anatomy and physiology. Training regulations state that a CNA training program must provide 50 hours of theory tuitions and 100 hours of clinically supervised training in order to be approved.

The Nurse Practice Acts of most states requires a CNA to be able to:

1. Answer all patient help signals.
2. Skillfully reposition bedridden patients to keep them from getting bedsores.
3. Feed patients by mouth or through a gastric tube if needed.
4. Observe patients’ wellbeing, vital signs, fluid charts, food intake, monitor alarms and report all data to the nursing staff.
5. Help patients walk, get in and out of bed, exercise and adjust to post surgery positions.
6. Transport patients by using stretchers or wheelchairs.
7. Clean room, change bed linens, and disinfect as needed.

Now you’re ready to prepare for the National Nurse Aid Assessment Program, or NNAAP, competency examination test your clinical skills. Administered by the American Red Cross, eligibility requires that:

1. You’re at least 16 years old
2. Submit to a criminal background check conducted by the Department of Education
3. Have completed a CNA training course during the last 24 months

This exam is administered in 2 parts. Both parts are given on the same day. In order to be listed in the Nurse Aide Registry, both parts of the exam must be passed. The written part of the test is comprised of 70 multiple choice questions. The second part of the test is the Skill Evaluation.

You must perform 5 randomly selected skills that nurse’s aides are expected to know. In order to receive NNAAP certification, you must be able to successfully perform all 5 skills.

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

April 12, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Nursing is a great field to get into, especially if you’re the type that loves to help people. If you are that kind of person then what better field to get into than nursing.

There may be times when the job is less appealing but that is the same in all jobs and at least with nursing you know that your job is essential to the well being of the patients a round you.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: